CSCS card

danny_glover09

Site Supporter
Got my test for my CSCS labourers card on Tuesday. After recently losing my low paying warehouse job I have been looking on indeed and the general rate for a labourer in Manchester is anywhere from £10 to £12 a hour. This could be up to £3 more than what I was earning in my last job so that's one of my reasons for doing my test. The other reason is to hopefully get with somebody who will teach me a trade in time.
I am wondering what other tickets I can pick up fairly cheaply to better my prospects of a better wage. I am thinking of doing a first aid at work and a banksman ticket..
Has anybody got any advice on what I should do? Can't afford to fully learn a trade at the moment. I do have experience on labouring on private jobs.
Any help is appreciated.
Thank you.

satinet

Are you looking to go on a big site or work with small builders?

Speaking as a small contractor I'd love to find people who work hard and are willing to learn (and turn up for work).

Get a tape measure and learn how to use it ☺️

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
That's the biggest gripe - reliability

If you say you're going to be there, be there
If you can't make it say so
If your start time is <time> turn up on time
Get yourself a bag with your own PPE in, a decent HiViz bomber jacket, and a sturdy pair of waterproof boots, preferably steel toes capped and nail resistant soles.

Once you get the work and do the above, people will phone you because you become dependable. They won't phone the guy that let's them down.
Same with money, a good labourer is worth his weight, you'll get more for being good at what you do.

Good luck

danny_glover09

Site Supporter
Are you looking to go on a big site or work with small builders?

Speaking as a small contractor I'd love to find people who work hard and are willing to learn (and turn up for work).

Get a tape measure and learn how to use it ☺️