Consumer unit?

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
8,288
I am wiring my shed this weekend and following advice from your good selves I have decided to fit a small consumer unit. I am only putting in a switch to power a couple of lights and then a ring of 6 double sockets. Will this consumer unit fit the bill?

 

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
65,101
Yes but change the 32mcb to a 20amp to be on the safe side unless you are planning on using machines in there
 

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
8,288
Yes but change the 32mcb to a 20amp to be on the safe side unless you are planning on using machines in there
I will be using small bench machines, mitre saw, router, small grindstone etc. I don't know what a 32mcb actually is, how would I change it to a 20amp? I think I had also better increase the fire part of my home insurance.
 

Somersetlad

Regular member
Joined
Aug 12, 2018
Messages
364
If your planing to connect that to your existing consumer unit, rather than just plugging into a convenient socket, it needs to be done by a qualified electrician, as it needs to conform to part P of the building regulations and be signed off properly.
 

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
8,288
If your planing to connect that to your existing consumer unit, rather than just plugging into a convenient socket, it needs to be done by a qualified electrician, as it needs to conform to part P of the building regulations and be signed off properly.
I will be powering the shed through a 2.5mm extension lead, do I still need to conform to the regs?
 

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Joined
Aug 8, 2001
Messages
65,101
How far is the shed from the socket you are planning on plugging into?


Also, if going down that route you would be better off with the extension plug going into a Plug in RCD and then just plugging in whatever at the shed side into the extension cable as needed
 

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
8,288
How far is the shed from the socket you are planning on plugging into?


Also, if going down that route you would be better off with the extension plug going into a Plug in RCD and then just plugging in whatever at the shed side into the extension cable as needed
It is about 30 - 35 metres from the nearest power point in the house.
 

lliopp

Regular member
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 9, 2005
Messages
961
If it’s a non permanent supply, have a look at camping power cables.
 

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
8,288
I posted about the power supply a couple of weeks ago and I have purchased a 50m 2.5mm extension which, I have been assured will have negligible voltage drop.
 

Backwoodsman

Regular member
Site Supporter
Joined
May 1, 2018
Messages
238
to install the system correctly and inline with current iee regulations you will have to install a supply to the shed in a substantial size cable.
probably steel wire armoured cable. very expensive, the earthing regulations on remote buildings from the house are extremely stringent.
 

IanG1

Regular member
Site Supporter
Joined
Sep 20, 2018
Messages
538
If you are plugging it in the whole lot is backed by a 13a fuse in the plug top so not much in the way of capacity.
The board is over kill without a proper supply via a new breaker in your house board and an SWA cable of something like 6mm supplying your shed.
If it was me I'd bit the bullet and get it done properly.
 

Dave Spence

MD virtual champion 2020. Golden Pie winner 2018.
Site Supporter
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
8,288
Thanks for the advice fella's, I will let you know how it pans out(y)
 
Top