cat food

Status
Not open for further replies.

martin.

Account Locked
hi all
as you know im normaly river/drain fisherman although i have fished pits i am tending to fish more this closed season.
im not to hot on carp bbaits so for a change i would like some advice
on which catfood holds on the hook best ill probally fish size 12 or 10 hook as the largest
even now im still learning & trying new ideas after about 40yrs of fishing

tight lines.
martin.

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Hi Martin,

One of the most popular catfoods that was/is used is a brand called Koshida which is available from Lidl supermarkets and some tackle shops. 29p a can at the supermarkets.

As for staying on the hook, it is like all the others, it doesn't like hard casting and is more suited to use with a pole where it can be gently dropped into the water.
I suppose you could mix it with breadcrumb or some other binder to make a stiff paste but it is something that I haven't tried.

Hope this helps, Dave

martin.

Account Locked
thanks dave
i am going fishing tommorrow afternoon will make an 11mile detour
to ournearest lidls is there a particular flavour which tends to work better although ill probaly get 2 or 3 different flavours to try .
once again thanks dave

any other suggestions for me to try on my next trip

tight lines.
martin.

Trogg

the bouncer
Staff member
Site Supporter
If you really want to try catfood Martin then buy some PVA bags.

Put the baited hook, few freebies & the casting wieght into the bag & seal it then cast as far as you like cos the bag will/should keep the cat food on the hook plus drop an irresistable carpet of freebies around you baited hook as well.

Alan
You've just been moderated

reveal13

Try Whiskas in jelly that is a winner and is actually quite tuff, and stays on the hook

If you want to cast it, then hair rig it and it should stay on for the cast,