Casters

muggins

paste man
Site Supporter
My match Saturday may be cancelled due to the weather. The fishery manager has said that it's too hot to keep fish in keepnets. No problem, he is totally correct.
We wont know until Friday, when he will assess the conditions. My issue is I've ordered my casters for Thursday(can't get to shop any other time) If the match is cancelled can I freeze the casters, I've never done it before. I've heard it's best to freeze them in water. Advice required please

smiffy

Site Supporter
Much like IanG1 I keep mine in black plastic bags. Squeeze the air out and put them in the fridge. Open every couple of days,let them breath a few minutes, then squeeze the air back out and put them back in the fridge.
Freezing them may kill them resulting in greyish casters. Not very nice 👍

muggins

paste man
Site Supporter
Much like IanG1 I keep mine in black plastic bags. Squeeze the air out and put them in the fridge. Open every couple of days,let them breath a few minutes, then squeeze the air back out and put them back in the fridge.
Freezing them may kill them resulting in greyish casters. Not very nice 👍
I wont be using them for a couple of weeks if the match is off which is why I ask the question. If I can't freeze them I'll have to cancel the casters and do wihout them if the match is deemed fishable

smiffy

Site Supporter
I wont be using them for a couple of weeks if the match is off which is why I ask the question. If I can't freeze them I'll have to cancel the casters and do wihout them if the match is deemed fishable
We used to keep casters for two weeks when we went to Holland. Yes, we needed a few fresh for hookers but if the fridge is cold you should be ok 👍

IanG1

Site Supporter