Calf Nuts

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adam S

Account Locked
Hello All

I have used calf nuts for a while as a prebait, and have found they work well, they break down quickly, from a nice cloud when disturbed and apparently are full of molasses, they remind me a lot of fast break down CSL pellets in fact (except they are a fraction of the cost)

I am hoping to use them as a prebait for bream and hybrids, aswell as roach probably , but have not used them for these species before ( usually i use em for tench)

Has anyone else used them for these species?

All replies appreciated

ADAM

http://groups.msn.com/ADAMSALBUM79

Steve M

Site Supporter
Hi Adam S,
I have never used calf nuts before, but I am curious. Do you use them on their own or mix with groundbait? Do they need any preparation ie. soaking. They appear to be a cheap bait that could be useful to bulk out feed when bagging Bream etc. Were they successful for Tench?
Thanks for any info.
Cheers.

joe1987

'Darwener'
Please tell me what calf nuts are. A kind of nut of a calfs danglies??? Thanks **Joey-Mackeral**

norm

does the calf mind you using its nuts?

what are they?

martin.

Account Locked
norm
there the byproduct of male calves being turned into bullocks LOL

tight lines.
martin.

talk fishing flip football

norm

cheers martin
at least thats cleared up

ps do you think the farmer (or the calf) would mind if i picked my own at the weekend

joe1987

'Darwener'
Hmmm, Dont think you be fast enough to catch it norm[:D]. I know i'd run like hell if you or any body else were after my nuts!
Get a couple of MDs to help, Me and the percher are always up for a challenge!!!
Im guessing they're bought from the butcher Adam? Cheap?
**Joey-Mackeral**

scales

Vinny
I've been trying to locate a supplier of Calf Nuts in the Northwest of England with no success, Anyone know of any ??

cheers,

Scales,

Every angler knows his Plaice.

AndyA