Border Fisheries

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon R

Site Supporter
I'm fishing the Angling Times Supercup Northern Semi-Final this weekend at Border Fisheries (Meridian, Match and Robbie's Lakes)

Due to it being a 300 mile round-trip from up here in the deepest, darkest north-east, we haven't done a lot of practicing, so if anyone has any up-to-date information (especially regarding bait) i'd be very grateful.

Actually any information at all would be useful!

Stu Dav

Davi
Simon

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I can tell you that I won a 40 peg club match last sunday on the canal 2nd June

Heres what did it for me.
There was a stern wind blowing from left to right as you stand in the carpark and look at the island, an easterly a think,sory the sun didn't shine much that day.
Now I must admit that I did draw the "flier" peg 34 on the far side of the island,thats what the guy who runs the place said anyway.
It screams pole at 12m across to the reeds and you could see plenty of activity from mooching carp all over the place,but that wind was a nightmare for me and I couldn't hold it still enough for long enough.
I think I swore at one point and then threw the bl**dy thing up the bank after an hour(diaflash not that lite or stiff).
So I dug my waggler rod out and that was another disaster.
Bare in mind I have fished down the side on many occasions so I pegged my keepnet out tight to the bank on my left off the bottom !
Fish back from the edge from the start just in case.
Well its a good 2 foot deep at the edge here, but I know its not that deep all the way round gradually sloping to some 7 feet down the middle,fishing quite lite 2lb bottom 20s carbon barbless with a tiny float and single maggot and 14s elastic it took a good while to get my first bite.
feeding maggot (red) quite often , a good pinch every minute(say 20).
first fish was a carp 2lb.