Border Fisheries - Robbies Pool

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian Johnson

Anybody got any information on this venue, I am fishing there Saturday and would be grateful for any input. I have read the topic on border fisheries but there is not a lot of info on robbies pool, are all the waters the same regarding bait and the fishing methods?

Tight lines.
icon_smile_question.gif

BJ

BJ

Simon R

Site Supporter
Hiya Brian

Well i'm by no means an expert, but I did fish Robbie's last week in the Angling Times Supercup Semi-Final.

Basically either end of the pond fished terrible, but there were some reasonable weights from the pegs in the middle.

You can use pellets on this lake (I think they're trying to fatten the fish up before transferring them to other lakes on the complex)but you have to buy them from the venue itself (1 a bag - not bad value)

You only need set a pole up - the ponds too small to fish any other method really, although if its blowing a bit and you're in the middle of the lake, I guess you could fish a little feeder. There's a shelf at around 4m, so I fished one line just over the shelf, one at 11m and I would have fished one tight to the inside if i'd had any near bank cover.

I would start by cupping in a good handfull of pellets at 11m and also down the inside if you have any cover and fish chopped worm & caster at 4m. I'd stick with maggot or worm as hookbait unless you start getting bothered by the hordes of micro-perch that inhabit the lake (they're about 3" long and you wouldn't believe the size of worm they can get in their gobs!)