Barbel Alley

Zerkalo

Site Supporter
Where is it?

I've heard it gets its name from a sign at Hampton Loade, but can in reality come to mean anywhere on the Severn from Bridgnorth to Bewdley, but not sure if that's right.

I have been fishing the Severn for Barbel for two years now and only just getting used to fishing a couple of stretches. I have heard it referred to as a 'River Commercial'.

To me I fish Arley RB and Hampton Loade LB but I've only found about 5 pegs that I think are really worth fishing at both (caveat - within comfortable walking distance at least as I've only walked 2 or 3 meadows).

There are more pegs at Highley, which is day ticket like HL, but it gets busy even compared to the BAA stretches.

So other than the Highley and Hampton Loade, which stretches are being referred to as I'd like to fish some other places this year?

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
I might be wrong but I think it refers to the area roughly from Bridgnorth to bewdley thus including them and taking in the likes of highley, arley, Hampton lode etc.

Zerkalo

Site Supporter
I might be wrong but I think it refers to the area roughly from Bridgnorth to bewdley thus including them and taking in the likes of highley, arley, Hampton lode etc.
There are town stretches which are supposedly free at both of those towns but I'm yet to find them. I want to get out of the habit of fishing the same few pegs but other BAA stretches I've walked along, Blackstone (doesn't look too Barbel-y to me) and Knowle Sands (treacherous mud and banks in places and not always easy fishing from my perspective) I don't know where to really start despite living 15-20 minutes away from both towns.

Robwooly

There's two thoughts depending on who you ask Bridgnorth to Bewdley is the generic Barbel Alley area but specifically it used to be the straight bit at Hampton Loade near the pumping station. I suppose it depends how big you want your alley :)

Zerkalo

Site Supporter