Bait-up feeders

corkycat

I know there is an earlier thread on this subject, but still seeking further advice, if I may.

For my Irish bream fishing I am thinking of changing from a spod to a bait-up feeder, which is something I have never used before. My thinking is that the latter will get the bait down to the exactly the same spot as my swimfeeder, whereas a spod landing on the surface can have a scattergun effect. However rather than use a different rod for the purpose I would much rather use my one feeder rod. That way, the clipped up line means that my bait-up feeder AND my swimfeeder will land on the same spot every time.

My question is this: would my rod and tip (Prestons Monster 13' with 1-2 oz tip) withstand the cast of a 30g Prestons bait-up feeder (filled, of course, with bait)?

Dusty

I know there is an earlier thread on this subject, but still seeking further advice, if I may.

For my Irish bream fishing I am thinking of changing from a spod to a bait-up feeder, which is something I have never used before. My thinking is that the latter will get the bait down to the exactly the same spot as my swimfeeder, whereas a spod landing on the surface can have a scattergun effect. However rather than use a different rod for the purpose I would much rather use my one feeder rod. That way, the clipped up line means that my bait-up feeder AND my swimfeeder will land on the same spot every time.

My question is this: would my rod and tip (Prestons Monster 13' with 1-2 oz tip) withstand the cast of a 30g Prestons bait-up feeder (filled, of course, with bait)?

Could you not use a large feeder on a carp rod or spod rod and then just use marker sticks or similar to clip up to the same distance?

Zerkalo

Site Supporter
Not sure about this but I had heard or read on here that tip weight means very little to how much a rod can cast. 30g doesn't seem too heavy even when loaded with bait so I would have thought it would be ok.

Lee Richards

Site Supporter