ASD (autism)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nightowluk

hi, my son has recently been diagnosed with this, he's 3 and a half.
it didn't come as too much of a shock to us but still, we're a little bit shaken. there's plenty of info on the net but, we don't really know what to expect in the future? he's a very happy little chappy! he just doesn't talk much and struggles to communicate with others and he likes his life to be very routine.
are there any other site members who are/or know anyone who suffers from this condition? the local authorities round here are useless and we've had zero support.

Yuccaman

I like fishing.
Staff member
Site Supporter
I wouldn't claim to be an expert, but as a secondary school teacher, I've seen my fair share of my pupils over the years with a diagnosis of ASD. If there's anything that I may be able to help with, drop me a PM.

James

Nightowluk

my only concern is james, can he go on to lead a normal life into adulthood? and i don't mean that in a selfish way! i just want whats best for him.

stymie

My son was diagnosed with something similar at three years old, SPD (semantic pragmatic disorder). He is almost 14 now and although I wouldn't say it has been easy we were assured there was no real reason why he shouldn't grow up and have a happy life, there is plenty of help out there for someone in your position, we joined the Autistic society from an early stage and took it from there. By the way he is on his first residential at Humphrey Head near Morecombe, away from home for the first time and from what I can gather having the time of his life.

methodgob

yoda
He'll love it Stymie! We regularly bump into their lot(Humphrey head) on Coniston while they're ghyll scrambling and paddling rafts around.
My mates youngest has just been diagnosed with this,which is just another thing to add to their over complicated life.
Dad has ocd, mum has some weird form of epilepsy,grandad has alzheimers.

badpegpicker

Proud to be a.....