Any Pike tips please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beebs

I know this is a bit amiguous, but have any of you got any tips for catching pike at the moment, lures, plugs, baits etc. I am going tomorrow and have not been having much success lately. What about additives?

I will be fishing quite a deep gravel pit and have been religiously perparing my tackle all day for an assault tomorrow. I will be using deadbaits and lures on my other rod when I start to feel a bit cold[:)][:)]. Are any lures particularly effective? I am new to this lure fishing lark, but am quite excited by the thought of it. All help gratefully accepted. Cheers, Steve.

DJ.gif

Polepot

Poles
Beebs,

I too am new to Lure Fishing but I have foumd the Shakespear Big S lures to be very reliable and have caught with them on every occassion that I have used them. I would use the largest ones as the small ones can be totally engulfed by a pike of even a few pounds.

Poles

Great info, great guys, great fun, thats Maggot Drowners

Dave

Red Leader
Staff member
Site Supporter
Hi Beebs,

Fish in to the wind and reasonable close in for starters.
You'll find that Pike are like most species at this time of the year and as the water gets cold they tend not to roam far looking for food. Instead they prefer to scavenge in easy areas such as where the water drifts to, picking up easy meals.

If using a plug, try fanning out your casts so that you 'work' an area and cover the same line several times. Often a pike may see the lure go over or past and choose to ignore it. But once it goes past a few times they are more tempted to have a go.
One tip that was passed on and used by Neville Fickling was to put bacon rind on the rear hook of a lure as an additional attractant. I haven't tried it myself but every little helps at this time of year.

I have tried additives but don't personally rate them and Stu tried them at Castle Howard but didn't like the taste [:p]

Dave

esox.20

04/11/01 - 12/10/15
In Memoriam