After advice for Badshot lea small pond

MrTencherson

Site Supporter
Hoping for some tips and advice from any one familiar with the Badshot lea complex.

I fished Badshot Lea small pond yesterday for the first time and I found it way more difficult than I expected. The small pond is advertised as highly stocked match fishery, so I was a little disappointed with the 3 fish (albeit very nice fish, 2 nice bream and a double figure carp) that I managed to tease out of there.

The reason i post this is because 1, - i'm a novice and 2, I don't know the pond or what methods are going to work best so I figured some tips from those who know can help me with the learning curve on this pond.

Since I was limited on bait, only had sweetcorn and pellets & micros I started with one feeder rod on the method feeder and tried the float rod on sweetcorn for some smaller fish. So an hour went by, not even a line byte or a knock the second hour went by and still nothing but I did notice a couple of cormorants in my swim so maybe attracted some fish but the birds were scaring them off? I put the float rod away and switched it to a bomb and also fished out as far as I could with both the method and bomb (near the half way mark) and in the third hour I got a nice common to about 13lb after that it went a bit quiet but I persevered and in the last hour and a bit I managed a couple of bream ~ 3lb each all on the method.

So... Am I approaching this pond all wrong (I was on peg9, middle of the pond near the car park btw) or is this typical for this pond?