Aerials

Status
Not open for further replies.

D Wallace

leo
Do people have to have a new digital aeriel instead of the analog one. I'm sure i read somewhere that it did'nt make any differance. Can anyone confirm this. Thanks.

Trogg

the bouncer
Staff member
Site Supporter
so long as it is lined up right on the transmitter it makes no difference mate, i've got two digi boxes running off the old aerial on the roof and the picture is perfect

Donfish

'Wot's geet Wilf?
There's no such thing as a 'digital'aerial.It's a con used by some unscrupulous installers to get people to buy new.Only if you
get poor reception,in which case you may need a new aerial,otherwise your present aerial should be fine.

jase72

Hi...there is no such thing as a digital aerial.....I'm an Aerial and sattellite Installer.....In Hull

It totally depends on which transmitter you reciving you t.v signals from....ie in Hull we work off Belmont transmitter so we need a wide band aerial (to recive ch21-69...)as the digi mux's are on 30..48...57..60...66...68...hence we need a wideband areial....

#In other parts of the country you can get away with a "grouped" areial..ie group A'B'C'D.... aerial meaning all the digi mux's are in a small band width....ie
A-ch. 21-36

B-ch. 35-46

C-ch. 45-57

D-ch. 56-68

WD-ch, 21-68

fish4alarf

Site Supporter
The easist way to find out if your aerial and the cable are o/k is go to teletext, any form of words or figures disrupted means your signal is not good, if the script is o/k you should be allright.

I really chuckle when i read about digital/analogue.
They are a means of delivery like a bus and a car.
Anyone in the midlands area who has a problem send me a pm.

greentura

Greenie