Aerial Centerpin advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnG

Hello everyone,

I need a bit of advice. A couple of weeks ago I was left some fishing tackle that belonged to my father-in-law.
In his tackle box was a Allcock Match Aerial in very good condition.
I've never used a centrepin before although I've often fancied one but the price has always put me off buying one. Now I've got one, I want to use it.

Can someone tell me the correct way to put line on the reel. Does it feed off from the bottom or the top? (ie wind clockwise to wind in)
Secondly, can someone explain how to cast with it correctly.

Thanks, John

JohnG

Oh, I am left handed if that makes a difference although I still wind with my left hand.

John

Trogg

the bouncer
Staff member
Site Supporter
Hi John

I'm mailing a link to this page to a friend of mine who is just about the most knowledgeable bloke around on "pins".

He'll answer just about any questions you might have on them.

Alan
insomnia is nothing to lose sleep over

Alan Roe

Hello John
Alan has just e-mailed me the first answer to your question is that the line should come off the bottom of the spool.
Secondly I am happy to teach you the "Wallis" cast which will allow you to cast long distances form the spool of the reel.
Click on my profile and it should bring up my e-mail address contact me and I will sort out your problems very quickly

Cheers
Alan

Alan Roe

Hello John
Alan has just e-mailed me the first answer to your question is that the line should come off the bottom of the spool.
Secondly I am happy to teach you the "Wallis" cast which will allow you to cast long distances form the spool of the reel.
Click on my profile and it should bring up my e-mail address contact me and I will sort out your problems very quickly

Cheers
Alan

scouse

'River Man'
hi alan just read what you said about pins
i purchased one payed 120 quid for it
i have trouble casting tried with it again
on sunday no joy with it hope you dont mined