Advice on the 'Method Feeder'

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobby

The majority of my local venues have never really warrented the the use of this proven killer method, therefore even though i have read lots about it, i have not ever fished it. Has anyone got any sound advice on method mix, hooklenth poundage, hooksize etc. that i can put in to practice, when i visit a typical commercial venue in a couple of weeks time ?[?]

Ian C

Hi Bobby

I'm no expert, as I tried method fishing for the first time on Saturday [:)]

I went and bought a 15kg bag of Vitalin (flaked dog food) from a local petshop, along with some dried chipped sweetcorn and some crushed and dried Hemp and Tares. No doubt it would have been much easier to just go and buy some "off the shelf method mix", but I wanted to make my own and I intend doing quite a bit of method fishing, so I wanted quantity.

N.B. The crushed Hemp/Tares and chipped Sweetcorn had to be soaked for 24 hours. And I mixed the vitalin (with water) at least a day before use.

Getting the mix just right took a little trial and error, as it came out rather sticky at first, so I put some more vitalin into the mix that I had first blended to dust in a blender. That did the trick, as I was able to get the mix just as I wanted [:D]

As for line etc, I was using a 3lb carp rod, 14lbs Infinity Duo line and a Korda weighted method feeder (Though I did have a go on my Rhino feeder rod for a while too, which coped fine).
As for terminal tackle, I was using Pineapple boilies, which were hair-rigged on a size 6 hook (knotless setup)attached to a six inch hook length of 15lb braid.

I sometimes buried the hookbait in the method ball (opposite side to the weight so it sat on the top after sinking) when really giving it some on the cast, but mostly just left it outside.

I dare say the are better ways, but what the heck, it caught me a nice 13lb 10 oz carp [:D][:D][:D][:D]