15lb flurocarbon line with a size 2 hook for perch

Itsdrew93

im new to dropshot fishing and was watching a YouTube video and some guy recommended a size 2 hook with 15lb flurocarbon line set up im fishing for perch so im just wondering if that will work as ive already ordered the line and hooks or will i be better off using a size 12 hook and 8lb flurocarbon line will i be better off using that set up or the set up the YouTube guy recommended or does it really matter or can anyone give me some advice on which set up shall i use to catch the most fish thanks alot

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
The hook size is dependent on the size of the lure but 15lb fluorocarbon seems very excessive, that’s sea fishing territory.

DFL

Site Supporter
Agree with above. I will use up to 8lb in a snaggy swim but 6lb would be my go to bs, keep in mind you will hook a pike occasionally.

A size 2 hook also seems excessive but it’s amazing how even the smallest of perch will engulf a huge hook.

Dusty

im new to dropshot fishing and was watching a YouTube video and some guy recommended a size 2 hook with 15lb flurocarbon line set up im fishing for perch so im just wondering if that will work as ive already ordered the line and hooks or will i be better off using a size 12 hook and 8lb flurocarbon line will i be better off using that set up or the set up the YouTube guy recommended or does it really matter or can anyone give me some advice on which set up shall i use to catch the most fish thanks alot

Could be in case a pike is hooked? Not sure though.

Silverfisher

Site Supporter
I can understand going up to that if pike become a problem but I wouldn’t start that high.

DFL

Site Supporter
Good question. In a pike infested water you’d need one but then I most probably wouldn’t dropshot, to me, using a wire trace takes some of the dropshotting fun away which is all about using a sensitive and subtle setup.

nejohn

Site Supporter