£1k...what 16m pole?

Jimmies

I'm just building my kit back up after 15 years out and I'm now on the pole question. I'd be looking to use it on some canals, rivers sometimes and natural lakes (which 16m would be handy every now and again)

But I'm stuck on the pole as I've had no experience of the more modern poles. I've been thinking of Daiwa matchwinner c4/5, maver oculus 799/999 type of setup.....but I'd be very interested in hearing of other poles new or 2nd hand I should look at.

I appreciate that 1k is on the low side for new when looking at 16m so I'm not expecting top of the line equipment

Cheers

robert d

Allways trying to improve
Site Supporter
I'm just building my kit back up after 15 years out and I'm now on the pole question. I'd be looking to use it on some canals, rivers sometimes and natural lakes (which 16m would be handy every now and again)

But I'm stuck on the pole as I've had no experience of the more modern poles. I've been thinking of Daiwa matchwinner c4/5, maver oculus 799/999 type of setup.....but I'd be very interested in hearing of other poles new or 2nd hand I should look at.

I appreciate that 1k is on the low side for new when looking at 16m so I'm not expecting top of the line equipment

Cheers
Maver oculus have good reviews , 999

Jimmies

yes, I think i'm between the C5 and 999 - is the G90 worth the extra or are they fundamentally the same?

cheers for the input

Jimmies

I actually went for a new Maver Definition XS 14.5m which was basically half the price of the 999 or C5. I kept hearing that using the full 16m is quite rare.....so I had a bit of a think on the cost benefits of just getting a 14.5m one

I comes next week and just need to get the accessories sorted

johnfranks

Site Supporter
Probably a good decision. To fish comfortably for any length of time at 16ms you would need to spend over 2k. At least that's what I have found

Simmo