Whip question

Silverfisher

I’m thinking of getting a whip for canal fishing, nothing fancy just around the £30 mark, having not used one for about 10 years. Back then I used a £15 Leeda elasticated whip for which you’d just tie the line to a loop in the elastic so I have no experienced of attaching line to a flick tip. It looks a bit fiddly to me so is it easier than it looks? Also does everything you need come with the whip or do you have to buy bits separately?

The Landlord

Site Supporter
To tie the line to a flick tip, is easy. You just need a couple of bits of silicon or rubber.

warrington63

Exiled Northerner
Site Supporter
Two pieces of silicone tubing to put rig on, one piece a couple of inches from tip the other on pole rig, put loop on rig behind pice on whip as if line going on dalton connector, wrap around tip a few times ,then put piece on rig on tip so it over hangs a little to save wrap around, Or buy a stonfo connector to go on end of whip and attach rig that way, both ways work well. As for brand I would go daiwa or preston innovations, that is only my personal choice, other brands available.
EDIT , @The Landlord posted vid as I was posting my bit. 😁

frankg

Site Supporter
Silver.....just glue on a Stnfo connector.....use araldite, not superglue....it won't move and very easy to attach your rigs

Silverfisher

I'm thinking that'll be the route I go down if I do get one, seems the quickest option.

JLK

Get yourself a Leeda 4m Concept GT-X competition whip. For the money they are very good and perfect for what you want.

richox12

Using the 'Lasoo' method behind silicone or onto the knot of stiff nylon/hollow braid (which itself is already attached to the flicktip) is the best way to go and avoid the tangles which plastic connectors can cause.

frankg

Site Supporter