Travelling to venue by bus or train

Hi there,

I apologise if this topic has already been covered. It's my first time on this site. Well any fishing site really!.
I don't drive but I would like to travel further afield for my fishing.
I was just wondering if anybody has any experience of travelling by bus or train with fishing rucksack and rods.

ukzero1

Growing old disgracefully.
Site Supporter
@Reelfishinggirl

Yes, I've done it, I no longer drive now. Travelled from West Yorkshire to Chesterfield (Barlows Fishery) with carry-all, rod hold-all and carp seat (couldn't carry the seat box). The first problem was the bus to the train station. The driver wouldn't let me on saying there was to much luggage. The next bus came and the driver said no problem as long as it did'n't interfere with other passengers luggage. The train to Chesterfield wasn't a problem (had to change at Sheffield), I was even helped by the train conductor. I didn't have any problems when coming home from train conductor or bus driver.
To be honest, I think it all depends on the mood of the bus driver, or how full the bus is.

Welcome to the forums by the way. :D

bluemack

Site Supporter
I used to many years ago,i would,nt(could,nt) do it now i think i,d pack it in if i had to rely on public transport these days.

ukzero1

Site Supporter
I was meeting another MD'er at Chesterfield rail station for a 'meet up' of other MD'ers at Barlows.

Hi,

Thanks for your replies. I spend a lot of my time down the river and own Nash Scopes due to their small pack down size. I also just take a ruck bag with a chair fixed. I am hoping that this will be OK as I'm not sure I could take any less tackle. My ruck bag is quite compact and my rod sleeve is only about 50" tall so I'm hoping that this will be OK. If not I'll do what you said and wait for the next bus!. I would hope the train will be OK though I have certainly taken more luggage than that on the train.