Top and bottom slider floats

Browner

Does anybody know where you can get hold of top and bottom slider floats between 2-6 gram. Thanks.

trotter2

Don't think you can buy them,but there easy to make mate
http://www.sjmwebsites.co.uk/fishing/fishingslider.html

Captain Pugwash

Ya wont catch owt sat on the settee. P.A.C Member
I have a few of these in a tackle box I acquired in what fishing situation would they be used? I'm new to the game!

Browner

Deep, slow moving rivers. Used with a stop knot and bead to determine the depth and a bulk shot with a couple of droppers nearer the hook. On the strike you hit the fish straight away without the weight or resistance of the float. Not seen or used very much these days.

Ken the Pacman

Site Supporter
Not seen any commercial versions for maybe 20 years since Ultra stopped selling them.
You could make them from balsa chubber type floats by adding a couple of side eyes if you cant find any.

blue orfe

Would a sliding waggler not be better in a slow river?
I fish the slider on the Thames to good effect.

Captain Pugwash

Looking at it,it seems to me that they both would do a similar job wouldn't they?
Possibly the waggler is just a later name for the same thing.
The commercial I fished yesterday as quite a deep drop off allegedly to 6m went off it once or twice as I was fishing the shelf with a float and heavy hook leads, but didn't plumb it so don't know exactly how deep it is. May try it next time using a slider float and a hair to bookmark some larger bait see what happens.

Total

Site Supporter
Originally posted by Browner

Does anybody know where you can get hold of top and bottom slider floats between 2-6 gram. Thanks.
These may suit your needs. Also mentioned is the Deep dock slider float depending on your specific needs.

May I suggest you phone them first to check for availability? Contact numbers on the same website.

http://www.goldmedalfloats.co.uk/sliding%2520balsa.html

minkyandbear

Site Supporter