The Maggotdrowners Forum - Pole rig for deep water in Ireland
The Maggotdrowners Forum
  Maggotdrowning.com
Username: Password: Save Password
    GENERAL TOOLS:  Home Page | Register | MaggotMail | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Calendar | Classifieds | Contact us | Advertise | MD's TV
    MEMBER TOOLS:    Log In or Click Here to Register and access these tools.   |   Forgot your Username and/or Password?

All Forums
 Fishing
 Fishing Talk
 Pole rig for deep water in Ireland
 New Topic  Topic Locked  Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

nrayner
Not Dave

Site Supporter

Hereford & Worcester
England

Posted - 28 June 2008 :  8:41:39 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add nrayner to your friends list
Ok all you pole experts, a bit of advice, please.

I'm not very experienced in pole fishing but will be doing a bit when we go to Co Clare this September. The stretch of the Shannon that we fish is 14ft deep at 8/9 metres and is stuffed with roach that feed freely on or close to the bottom. I've never fished that deep with the pole before so what sort of rig should I make up. Float type, shot or olivette?; distance between weight and hook etc.

The river is virtually static so it's really like fishing a still water.

Thanks

N Rayner

Sponsored Advert

Become a
Site Supporter
and remove
this Advert

Advertise here

Google Advert

Become a
Site Supporter
and remove
this Advert

Become a Site Supporter and remove these Adverts - Click Here

Steve M
dave

Site Supporter

Hertfordshire

Posted - 28 June 2008 :  9:16:55 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add Steve M to your friends list
Hi