The Maggotdrowners Forum - Fishing paste float rigs
The Maggotdrowners Forum
  Maggotdrowning.com
Username: Password: Save Password
    GENERAL TOOLS:  Home Page | Register | MaggotMail | Active Topics | Search | FAQ | Calendar | Classifieds | Contact us | Advertise | MD's TV
    MEMBER TOOLS:    Log In or Click Here to Register and access these tools.   |   Forgot your Username and/or Password?

All Forums
 Fishing
 Fishing Talk
 Fishing paste float rigs
 New Topic  Topic Locked  Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jcbenson
Account Locked

Wiltshire

Posted - 24 June 2012 :  10:17:51 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this topic Add jcbenson to your friends list
I'm a total novice when it comes to fishing paste.

I have some self-cocking paste floats. I understand the need to plumb the depth properly when using these. However, today when I wanted to give it a try, the wind and tow was strong and I really struggled - obviously with no shot down the line the float was drifting.

Am I doing something wrong? Was I fishing too deep and needed to shallow up (ie, if I was piano-wire tight to the paste would it be ok)? Or is it generally difficult to fish a self-cocking paste float in high winds?

Sponsored Advert

Become a
Site Supporter
and remove
this Advert

Advertise here

Google Advert

Become a
Site Supporter
and remove
this Advert

Become a Site Supporter and remove these Adverts - Click Here

midge99
Life Member

South Yorkshire
Madagascar

Posted - 24 June 2012 :  10:37:29 PM  Show Profile Bookmark this reply Add midge99 to your friends list
In wind I would opt for a shotted float and have it down wind of your pole tip.
I only use self cocking floats in flat calm conditions, also I would have the shot closer to the hook say 9-12in normally I have it at mid-depth

Go to Top of Page

geofflukins
Life Member

Site Supporter

North Yorkshire
England